ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

- 1. For admission to a Louisiana State Veterans Home, a veteran must be a resident of the state of Louisiana. State residence is not mandatory if the applicant is referred from an in-state United States Department of Veterans' Affairs Medical Center or by a Louisiana Department of Veterans' Affairs Veterans' Assistance Counselor.
- 2. The veteran must have served on active military duty 90 days or more. If active military service was less than 90 days, the veteran must have been discharged as a result of a disability incurred in the line of duty and must have received a discharge under honorable conditions for his or her most recent period of active military service. Act 18 of the 2009 Legislative Session permits certain peacetime veterans, Gold Star parents, and spouses of qualifying veterans to be admitted to the facility.
- 3. The veteran must undergo a medical examination prior to admission. The medical examination shall confirm that the applicant DOES NOT:
 - have a communicable disease (a negative chest x-ray is required prior to admission).
 - require medical care that the facility is not equipped to provide.
 - exhibit violent traits which may prove dangerous to the physical well being of the veteran, other residents or employees of the facility.
- 4. The veteran must consent to abide by all rules and regulations governing the facility.
- 5. The veteran or authorized representative for his/her financial matters must agree to pay the full resident care and maintenance fee.
- 6. The veteran applying must not have criminal charges pending.